December 14, 2022

Share

OUP Data Licensing Webinar Series


Wondering about or currently working in the complex world of licensing patient data at academic institutions? Come join your colleagues for a three-part webinar series on patient data licensing. This series will cover:

What is the data? (January 17, 2023) The policies and procedures of data management, including what can be licensed. Our panelists, Nick Gruszauskas of the University of Chicago and David Peloquin of Ropes & Gray, will review:

  1. The types of data and data definitions
  2. Key statutes associated with patient data
  3. Policies and processes on data, including:
    1. Identifiable vs. de-identified
    2. The consent process and types of consents
    3. The role of IRB and other stakeholders (oversight committees, ethics, committees, sponsored programs, tech transfer, general counsel, etc.)
  4. Ownership and use

What can we do with the data? (March 21, 2023) The panelists, John Plummer of the Vanderbilt Medical Center and Gavin Foltz of Duke University, will review the transfer and protection of patient data via:

  1. Clinical trial agreements
  2. Non-clinical industry-nonprofit agreements (sponsored research agreements)
  3. DUAs and use rights
  4. BAAs
  5. Licensing agreements

How are academic institutions licensing patient data? (May 16, 2023) This is the nitty-gritty on the licensing considerations for patient data during which your panelists Stephen Gardner of Quarles & Brady and Angela Kujak of The Broad Institute which will cover:

  1. License structure types
  2. Valuation
    1. Use vs incorporation vs productization
  3. Sublicensing rights
  4. Reproduction/modification/combination
    1. PHI considerations/clauses
    2. Institutional approvals
    3. Combination products (Data + devices/diagnostics)
    4. Security measures
    5. Auditing and liabilities
  5. Inventorship and revenue distribution

Mark your calendars to join us for our first webinar on January 17th, followed by the second on March 21st and the third on May 16th. You can register for the first webinar on What is the data? here. Registrations for the later webinars will open approximately one month prior to the webinar date.

All webinars will be held from noon-1pm ET/11-noon CT/10am-11am MT/9-10am PT.

Please contact kleute@oup.vc with any questions you’d like us to pose to the panelists or submit your questions when you register

Register here